Employee Chapter 9

Employee lets you create users, set access to just the tools they need, and block errors.



  Employee Guide

Employee Guide copies designated Alerts to System Notifications to help select areas.



  Employee Duplicate

Duplicate lets you create a new Employee card with the same Access settings preset.



  Employee Cloud Services

Access to Cloud Services is set on the Employee Card, on the Secure Web tab. Granting access lets the employee use credentials (securely stored API keys) to perform a task, like clicking a button in Big Business to automatically create a Customer in your online store.

This Solution provides details. (6543)


Access to Cloud Services is set on the Employee Card, on the Secure Web tab. Granting access lets the employee use credentials (securely stored API keys) to perform a task, like clicking a button in Big Business to automatically create a Customer in your online store.

To give an Employee access to Cloud Services:
1. Open their Employee Card
2. Go to the Secure Web tab
3. Check the checkbox for Access under Cloud Services
4. Click OK to Save the Employee Card

  Employee Access Privileges

The Access tab on Employee card lets you limit access to specific tools and privileges.

• Export - needed to export from searches and reports
• Terms - needed to change customer or vendor terms or credit
• Update - needed to use Update in searches to change multiple entries
• Delete - needed to use Delete in searches to delete multiple entries
• Profit - needed to view Profit tab on transactions
• History - needed to view History tab on cards
• Category - needed to view Category tab on transactions
• Duplicate - needed to use Duplicate in searches to duplicate multiple entries
• Status - needed to change Status on transactions
• Inactive - needed to change Inactive status of Customer, Items, etc.

These features apply throughout Big Business. (3103)


To assign privileges and access to differentfFeatures in Big Business, first turn OFF the All Access setting:

1. Open the Employee Card
2. Go to the Access tab
3. Click to uncheck All Access

You can then turn ON access to Tools by:
• Selecting a Toolbar - Customer, Vendor, Item,...
• Selecting a Tool - Customer Card, Customer Search, Quote,...

You can also turn ON Privileges such as:
• Export - needed to export from searches and reports
• Terms - needed to change customer or vendor terms or credit
• Update - needed to use Update in searches to change multiple entries
• Delete - needed to use Delete in searches to delete multiple entries
• Profit - needed to view Profit tab on transactions
• History - needed to view History tab on cards
• Category - needed to view Category tab on transactions
• Duplicate - needed to use Duplicate in searches to duplicate multiple entries
• Status - needed to change Status on transactions

Click OK to Save changes to the Employee Card and OK the dialog, that changes do not take effect until the user signs in again.

  Employee Cannot Modify

Big Business allows you to limit employee privileges, which you assign in the Employee Card on the Access tab.

Settings for Cannot Modify Transactions and Cannot Delete Transactions prevent the user from modifying or deleting any saved transaction. (5517)


Big Business includes settings in Employee Access for Cannot Modify Transactions and Cannot Delete Transactions to prevent errant changes or deletion of all saved, dated transactions, as follows:

• Only affects transactions with dates, such as Quotes, Sales Orders, Invoices

• Does not affect (non-dated) Cards, such Customer, Vendor, or Item

• Allows the Employee to create and Save new transactions

• Allows the Employee Read-Only access to existing (Saved) transactions

• Prevents the Employee from Deleting existing (Saved) transactions

• Works with an All Access or limited access setting


To set an user to Cannot Modify Transactions or Cannot Delete Transactions:

1. Open the user's Employee card.

2. Go to the Access tab.

3. Click the checkbox for Cannot Modify Transactions or Cannot Delete Transactions.

4. Click the OK button to save changes.

  Employee Commission Rate

Commission Rate lets you to enter commission rates for your employees for reporting.

When you enter a commission rate, it applies to either the total sales or the profit generated by the employee, depending on a selection you make in the Employee Preferences window. (The total sales and profit amounts are based on invoices on which the employee is listed as the Salesperson.)


To enter a commission rate:
1. Click the History tab in an Employee Card.
2. Enter a percentage in the Commission Rate field.

  Employee Reporting Commissions

Big Business provides straightforward reporting of employee commissions. Using the various options available you can:

-Choose whether to report commission on gross Sales or Profit (margin)

-Assign different employees different commission rates

-Report Commissions on Invoices or Paid Invoices
(5644)


Big Business includes several methods for reporting employee commissions, based upon the following settings:

• On a Customer Card you can assign a default Salesperson for a Customer.
• On Quotes, Sales Orders, Invoices you can select a Salesperson.
• On an Employee card, History tab, you can specify a Commission Rate.
• On the Employee Prefs choose Commissions based upon Sales or Profits.

From the list of Employee Reports, select one of the Commission Reports:
Commission Report (Summary)
Commission Report (Detail)
Commission Statement Report (Detail)

In the Custom Form Report tool, select one of the following Templates:
Receipts, Commission on Totals
Receipts, Commission on Subtotals

For more complex commission calculations, create multiple Employee Cards for a single employee. You might also use the Search options in the Commission Reports to control reporting. For example, if Joe makes 20% on Cash orders and 15% on all others, you could create two Employee Cards for Joe, or you could set Joe's Commission Rate to 20% and run using a Search like "Terms is equal to Cash" then reset Joe's Commission Rate and run the report again for "Terms is not equal to Cash."

  Employee Updating

Employees Search lets you view My Prefs settings for employees, such as:
• Search Prefs
• Docs Prefs
• Auto Zoom Prefs
This gives you a fast way to review or change, using the Update button.

This Solution describes this option. (6623)


Employees Search lets you view My Prefs settings for employees, such as:
• Search Prefs
• Docs Prefs
• Auto Zoom Prefs

These are settings that appear in My Prefs when signed in as a particular employee. If you go to the My Prefs tool youself you will only see your settings.

To Add a column like Search Prefs, click the Add button (or right mouse click anywhere) on the Header row. Then choose the Column you want to add.