Chapter 107 Employee Admin

Employee Admin describes tools to help create employee records and set their access.

BigBusiness requires each user to Sign In to help you track accountability and controls. Setup deserves careful consideration to avoid problems arising from creative solutions.



  Cannot Print Modified

Cannot Print Modified is a Restricted Access setting on an Employee card, Access tab.

Cannot Print Modified may prevent errors by disallowing printing of unsaved records. Click the checkbox and the Employee gets an error when they try to print before save.

This option may be helpful if Sales Tax lookups are automatic and might be skipped. Use Employees Search to view or change this setting for multiple Employees at once.



  Block Employees

Block is the option to set Restricted Access for Employees using Update on a Search.

Go to Employees toolbar, Employees Search, and click Find All to view all employees. Click Add (+) to add a column for Restricted Access, such as Cannot Print Modified.

Command-Click to select multiple entries and click Update. Choose the access option to update, like Cannot Print Modifed and set to Block. OK and and Confirm changes.



  Load Only Active Employees

Load Only Active Employees removes Employees from the following lists:

• Sign-In list
• Salesperson lists on Customer Cards and Quotes, Sales Orders, and Invoices
• Employee Listing for the Employee Card tool

Using this feature you can hide old employees names, and prevent them from being added to new transactions or used to Sign-In. (3634)


On the Employee Prefs tool is a checkbox to "Load Only Active (Emp. w/o Term. Date)." Clicking this checkbox tells Big Business to Load Only those Employees who do not have a Termination Date listed on their Employee Cards, into the following Employee lists:

• Sign-In list
• Salesperson lists on Customer Cards and Quotes, Sales Orders, and Invoices
• Employee Listing for the Employee Card tool

  Confirm Item Card Changes

Confirm Item Card Changes is In Employee Prefs--with other data entry preferences--and adds a confirmation dialog when clicking OK to Save an Item Card. This Solution describes its use. (6192)


To enable Confirm Item Card Changes:
1. Go to the Employee toolbar to Employee Prefs.
2. Click the checkbox for Confirm Item Card Changes.
3. Click OK to Save Employee Prefs.

Changes take effect the next time Employees Sign In.

When clicking OK on an Item Card, if the Item Card has been modified, the confirmation dialog will prompt the user to Save or Cancel. Clicking Save (or typing Enter or Return, will Save normally. Clicking Cancel will return the user to the Item Card to review changes or click Cancel to close the Item Card without saving changes.


  Can Print Builds

Can Print Builds is custom coding that allows printing of unsaved Item Adjustments despite Employee Prefs or Employee Access for Cannot Print Modified that blocks.



  Disable Subform Restore

Subform Restore addresses two database oddities:
• that a selected Line Item can be deselected in switching windows
• that the displayed Line Items can appear blank when switching windows

Subform Restore automatically returns to the Item Code of the last selected Line Item. This Solution describes disabling this feature if the results are undesirable or problematic. (6207)


To disable Subform Restore:
1. Go to the Employee toolbar to Employee Prefs.
2. Click the checkbox for Disable Subform Restore.
3. Click OK to Save Employee Prefs.

Changes take effect the next time Employees Sign In.


  Prevent Print

Prevent Print is the result of protection settings to avoid printing incorrect documents.

One reason is your company uses an online sales tax service such as TaxJar or Avalara, so you may need to Save before you Print to ensure any tax lookup is performed first.

If you click OK to save, you probably will see Print Options, which Prints after Save. You may also Cancel to not save any changes and re-open the saved record to Print it.



  Automatic Access

Automatic Access lets you allow an Employee without All Access to use Automatic Actions.

Auto-Charge, for example, automatically sets Other Charges to Freight Charges. Once set if Freight Charges recalculates, Other Charges is updated.

With Automatic Access the employee can click the Auto-Charge checkbox on Orders. Auto-Charge can be preset on a Customer and only changed with Automatic Access.



  Access Control for Batch Delete

(3290)


Big Business 2.5 adds the Batch Delete tool to many of the QuickSeaches. This tool offers the power to delete multiple records at one time. To limit an employee's access to this tool, Big Business 2.5 includes the Batch Delete tool in the Access Control for an employee.

Once you turn off All Access for an employee, assign the employee's access to specific tools by clicking on the tools. Use the toolbar pulldown to select from different toolbars.

To prevent an employee from using Batch Delete, make sure the Batch Delete tool is grayed out (not selected).


  Update Access

Update Access adds access checking to the Update tool for changing records on Searches.

Update is the tool with the magic wand icon found on Searches such as Customers. Use it make changes to several records at once such as setting Credit Limit for a group.

Update has its own Access setting on Employee Access but does not supersede others. Pictured, Terms Access prevents a change to Credit Limits by this employee.



  Unlock Bill of Materials

Unlock Bill of Materials lets you override locking of the BOM tool for any Employee.

BOM Locking protects allocations by not allowing changes to a BOM while allocated.



  Terms Access

Terms Access lets you set access for an employee to customer credit tools like Credit Hold, which can be used as a checkbox on Customers Search or Customer History.

Without All Access or Terms Access the employee will not be able to change Terms. Terms settings include Terms, Credit Limit, Credit Hold, and Credit Hold Days.



  Stock Prefs

Stock Prefs control what inventory information you see on Line Items.

For starters, this setting lets you choose what appears on the Expanded tab of the Sales Order with choices for:
• System Setting (recommended)
• Hide
• Show Allocated
• Show Available

This Solution provides a quick overview. (6658)


Stock Prefs control what inventory information you see on Line Items.

Choices for Stock Prefs are:
• System Setting (recommended)
• Hide
• Show Allocated
• Show Available

To set your Stock Prefs:
1. Go to the Employee toolbar to My Prefs
2. For Stock Prefs choose a setting
3. Click OK to save My Prefs

To set Stock Prefs for your company:
1. Go to the Company card to the Company Prefs tab
2. For Stock Prefs choose a setting
3. Click OK to save the Company Card

  Q&A: Why Can't I Delete Employee Cards?

"Why can't I delete Employee Cards?"

Deleting Employee Cards seems the logical solution to removing former Employees from the Sign In Popup. However, if the Employee is listed as a Salesperson on a Customer transaction, or has Imported Payroll records, the Employee Card cannot be deleted. (3532)


As a rule in Big Business, you cannot delete records as long as there are related records. For example, a Customer Card with related Invoices, cannot be deleted until the Invoices are removed (they refer to the Customer Card). Once the Invoices are Consolidated (condensing old transactions into accounting entries) the Customer can be deleted (automatically as part of the Consolidate process, or manually once the Invoices are gone).

Similarly, an Employee record cannot be deleted unless there are NO related records (e.g. Invoices listing the Employee as Salesperson, Payroll Imports, etc.).

The options to consider are:

• Modify the password, to prevent Sign In under this name
• Change the information on the employee record (replace the name)

If you open the Employee Record and click the Delete button and receive the message, "This record cannot be deleted because there is activity which has not been archived," there are related records which prevent the deletion of the Employee Card.