Sleeping Clients


Sleeping Clients is a new Database feature that tries to allow Clients that go to Sleep to automatically reconnect when they wake. This saves users' time avoiding a restart of the application. Of course this doesn't always work as hoped but when it does it's a real timesaver.

This Solution will provides requirements and suggestions. (6729)





Sleeping Clients is a new Database feature that tries to allow Clients that go to Sleep to automatically reconnect when they wake. This saves users' time avoiding a restart of the application. Of course this doesn't always work as hoped but when it does it's a real timesaver.

To work correctly the Big Business Client needs to resume the same as it went to Sleep. This means it cannot go to Sleep on one network and wake on another. It cannot go to Sleep too long or it may be disconnected for expired security credentials or because smart network hardware cut it off.

To skip this feature, and avoid Sleeping Client on your Big Business Server, just set all client computers to not Sleep. On macOS this is done in Energy Saver by clicking Prevent Computer From Sleeping. Of course, your Big Business Server computer should be set never to Sleep so it always responsive to your Clients.



Related:

Turning Off Sleep (Mac)